View My Account | LOG IN
Register a new account HERE

: 0 | $0.00

Dick Dale and His Del-Tones

King of the Surf Guitar Digital Download

digital download |

Add to Wishlist
View my Wishlist

During his string of intense, sold-out 1961 shows at The Rendezvous Ballroom in Balboa, California, Dick Dale is credited with creating the surf guitar sound. An avid surfer himself, Dick strove to recreate the feeling of riding the waves in his music. He accomplished that feat through innovative use of reverb and a rich playing technique that incorporated everything from from short staccato picking to long, legato melody lines. Known far and wide as “The King of the Surf Guitar,” Capitol Records signed him and named his 1963 label debut album after his undisputed title. Ranging from blistering instrumental takes on tunes like “Riders in the Sky” and “Hava Nagila,” to spirited vocal selections like “Dick Dale Stomp” and “What’d I Say,” the album truly captures all aspects of surf culture. All hail the King!

This Sundazed Music edition of King of the Surf Guitar is sourced from the original Capitol Records stereo masters. Surf’s up!

1. King of the Surf Guitar
2. The Lonesome Road
3. Kansas City
4. Dick Dale Stomp
5. What’d I Say
6. Greenback Dollar
7. Hava Nagila
8. You Are My Sunshine
9. Mexico
10. Break Time
11. Riders In the Sky
12. If I Never Get to Heaven

13. Lobo*
14. Cotton Picking

Bookmark and Share