View My Account | LOG IN
Register a new account HERE

: 0 | $0.00

The Gants

Introducing... the Gants Digital Download

digital download |

Add to Wishlist
View my Wishlist

Available for digital download on iTunes.


The Mersey-Beat sound even reached the Mississippi Delta in the form of a teenaged group called the Gants. The band hit big with a cover of Bo Diddley’s “Road Runner,” signed to Liberty Records, and, over the next few years, guitarist/leader Sid Herring penned a string of exceptional Beatles-inspired tunes, including “My Baby Don’t Care” and “I Wonder”. However, before signing to Liberty, the group headed to Sam Phillips’ studios in Memphis to make their first recordings, in late ’64. This treasure trove of lost Gants music — the Memphis recordings (sourced from the only surviving acetate of the session), rare single-only sides and a vintage radio broadcast — makes for an eye-opening set filled with originals and choice covers that will give Gants fans a priceless glimpse into the early development of this uniquely gifted garage band.

1. Another Chance
2. What’s Your Name
3. Lucille
4. You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away
5. In The Beginning
6. I’m No Good
7. It’s All Over Now
8. Cryin’
9. Eight Days A Week
10. Dear One
11. Things We Said Today
12. Twist And Shout
13. Opening Announcement
14. Taxman
15. Introducing The Group
16. Hey Joe

Bookmark and Share

Also from The Gants: