View My Account | LOG IN
Register a new account HERE

: 0 | $0.00

1. Mama, Here Comes The Bride
2. Take The Last Train Home (Instrumental)
3. Welcome Home Baby
4. I’ve Got A Woman
5. I Still Want You
6. Take The Last Train Home (Vocal)
7. Love Is A Swinging Thing
8. Ooh Poo Pah Doo
9. New Orleans
10. Mister Twister
11. Potato Chips

The Shirelles

The Shirelles and King Curtis Give a Twist Party LP

LP | $24.98

LP 5437

Add to Wishlist
View my Wishlist

180 gram vinyl


In 1962, the twist was EVERYWHERE. Artists from Joey Dee to Frank Sinatra (?!) were all chasing the craze, feverishly recording twist-able platters to meet the dance floor demand. Saxophone great King Curtis didn’t sleep on the trend, scoring a major hit with “Soul Twist” along with several other twist-themed singles. Thus, it was only natural that he should team up with the country’s #1 girl group, The Shirelles, themselves in the middle of an incredible run of chart-topping singles. This inspired pairing resulted in the Shirelles’ second LP release of 1962, The Shirelles and King Curtis Give a Twist Party.

And what a party it is! The album’s eleven tracks mix scorching instrumentals with vocal numbers, never once stopping for air. Curtis’ gritty sax tone combines with The Shirelles’ dulcet harmonies for a one-of-a-kind sound that will have everyone in the house on their feet, wearing through shoe leather. Sourced from the original Scepter analog master, this Sundazed reissue is destined to become a “go to” LP for your next soirée. Because when The Shirelles and King Curtis Give a Twist Party, the only acceptable RSVP is "YES!!!”

Bookmark and Share