View My Account | LOG IN
Register a new account HERE

: 0 | $0.00

1. The Moving Van
2. Mellow Fellow*
3. Now Or Anywhere
4. Fog*
5. Green Gorilla*
6. Model Shop I*
7. Model Shop II*
8. The Rehearsal Theme
9. Song For Lola (Clear)
10. Eventide*
11. Coral*
12. Aren’t You Glad*

* previously unissued version


Model Shop CD

compact disc | $18.98


Sold Out
Add to Wishlist
View my Wishlist


SPIRIT —THE GROUNDBREAKING L.A. COMBO EQUALLY swayed by moody jazz and Hendrix-style rock’n’ roll—was born to record movie soundtracks. Unfortunately, they cut only one, for the seldom-seen 1969 Jacques Demy film Model Shop, but what a triumph it is: a magical blend of John Locke’s eerie keyboards, the soaring guitar of Randy California and Jay Ferguson’s impassioned vocals and percussion, backed by the rock-steady bass and drums of Mark Andes and Ed Cassidy. It’s mindboggling that something as dazzling as the Model Shop soundtrack—recorded by the classic Spirit lineup — has been languishing unreleased in the vaults for over 35 years! The stuff of longplaying-legends and vinyl-myths, this full-length album was recorded in late 1968, but the completed master was shelved before release. Rescued from obscurity at last by Sundazed, this much rumored film-score gem is now center-stage where it can take a much deserved bow.

Bookmark and Share